Ethics Committee

Executive: Ellie Cumbo

Chair: Rachel Langdale QC - 7 Bedford Row

Vice-Chair: James Hines QC - Three Raymond Buildings

Vice-Chair: Cathryn McGahey QC - Temple Garden Chambers

Vice-Chair: Fenner Moeran QC - Wilberforce Chambers

Vice Chair: Stephen Kenny QC - 7 King's Bench Walk 



Catherine Addy QC - Maitland Chambers

Janet Bignell QC - Falcon Chambers

Steven Gasztowicz QC - Cornerstone Barristers

Susan Grocott QC - Deans Court Chambers

Tom Leech QC - Herbert Smith Freehills LLP

Paul Mendelle QC - 25 Bedford Row

Edmund Vickers QC - Red Lion Chambers

Caroline Carberry QC - Furnival Chambers

Nicholas Goodwin QC - Harcourt Chambers

Richard Miller QC - 3 New Square

Steven Bailey - No5

Brian Cahill - Merck Serono Ltd

Christopher Convey - 33 Chancery Lane

Helena Duong - 23 Essex Street

Mark Fell - Radcliffe Chambers

Andrew Granville Stafford - 4 Kings Bench Walk

Martha Gray - Harcourt Chambers

Tony McDaid - No5 (clerk member)

Deepak Nagpal - 1KBW

Deshpal Panesar - Old Square Chambers

Danny Robinson QC - 5 King's Bench Walk

Rachel Scott - 3 Raymond Buildings

Clare Strickland - Nursing and Midwifery Council 

Charlotte Reynolds - 12 KBW


The Terms of Reference of the Committee are:

a. To keep under review the rules and guidance governing practice as a barrister and to develop proposals for submission to the BSB;

b. To respond to proposals from the BSB and other bodies in respect of the professional conduct and ethics of lawyers;

c. To guide and assist the Bar and other representative committees on issues of professional conduct and ethics, including through the ethical enquiries service;

d. To oversee the work of the ethical enquiries service;

e. To assist in responding to requests to the Bar Council (including from overseas) concerning the professional conduct and ethics of lawyers;

f. To support the strategic aims of the Bar Council, as published.