The 2024 Employed Bar Awards shortlist has been announced, highlighting the sheer breadth of work undertaken in employed practice.

Employed barristers from the BBC, the CPS, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, APPEAL and many more are among this year’s nominees.

The six awards, ranging from Legal Team of the Year to Employed Barrister of the Year in the Public Sector, recognise the outstanding contribution made by employed barristers to the work of their organisations and the law.

A new category, the Lifetime Achievement Award, was introduced this year, which will be given to an individual who has made a major contribution to the employed Bar. The winner will be announced along with the other five winners at the Employed Bar Dinner at Gray’s Inn on Thursday 10 October.

Barbara Mills KC, Vice Chair of the Bar Council and member of the judging panel, said: "Congratulations to those shortlisted for the 2024 Employed Bar Awards. The high calibre of entrants highlights the breadth of work undertaken at the employed Bar. I am sure the Awards will inspire both those at the Bar and aspiring barristers. I look forward to seeing all those nominated and attendees at this fantastic event celebrating the wealth of talent at the employed Bar.”

Alongside Barbara on the judging panel was Bar Council Chair Sam Townend KC; Patrick Walker, founder, and former Chair of the Employed Barristers’ Committee; and Gaynor Wood, Chair of the Bar Association for Commerce, Finance, and Industry (BACFI).

The Right Hon Lady Rose of Colmworth will be speaking at the Awards evening. Lady Rose spent her career at the employed Bar and has risen through the ranks to the Supreme Court.

The shortlist

Employed Barrister of the Year in the Public Sector

  • Angharad Price – GLD
  • Jonathan Foy - CPS
  • Sirah Abraham - British High Commission, Bridgetown

Employed Barrister of the Year in a Law Firm

  • Emma Torr – APPEAL
  • Fiona Butler – Browne Jacobson
  • Thomas Johnson - Edwin Coe LLP

Employed Barrister of the Year in Commerce, Finance or Industry

  • Chris Loweth – BBC
  • David John Graham – Bank of England
  • Lorinda Long – Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Legal Team of the Year

  • CPS
  • Fieldfishers LLP
  • GLD

Read more about the nominees.

For more information about the awards and to book your ticket, click here