Constitution and governing documents


The Bar Council membership is made up of approximately 115 barristers who are elected or who represent the Inns, Circuits and other interest groups. The Bar Council meets about seven times a year. The Council elects its Chair, Vice-Chair and Treasurer. 

You can also view details of Bar Council meetings, including forthcoming dates and the minutes of past meetings, plus the Constitution and the Standing Orders for Committees of the Bar Council and the Standing Orders for Joint Committees.


Much of the Bar Council's work is co-ordinated and carried out by individual Committees, made up of both members of the Bar Council and co-opted individuals.



The Bar Council nominate Barristers to different appointments. Below is a list of the appointments current for 2023.

Faisel Sadiq – ICLR Bar Council Representative

Melissa Coutino –  ICLR Bar Council Representative

Gavin Mansfield KC – Access to Justice Foundation Trustee

Leslie Thomas KC – KCA Selection Panel Barrister Member

Matthew Chapman KC – KCA Selection Panel Barrister Member

Robin Allen KC – KCA Complaints Committee Senior Member

Benjamin Wood – ICBET Trustee

Imran Benson – ICBET Trustee

William East – ICBET Trustee

Kiril Waite – ICBET Trustee

Greville Healey – Land Registration Rule Committee Member

Richard Jones KC – IFoA Disciplinary Appointments Chair

Aswini Weereratne KC – IFoA Deputy Chair of the Appeals Tribunal

Nkumbe Ekaney KC – Judicial Appointments Commission Advisory Group

Andrew Skelly – Civil Justice Council Pre-Action Protocol Working Group