Bar Council Membership, Meetings and Minutes


Bar Council members 2021

NB: Paragraph 41a of the Standing Orders for Committees of the Bar Council states:


The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Bar are ex-officio members of all representative committees and any other committees appointed by the Bar Council except the BSB and its regulatory committees. Their membership does not contribute to the overall number of members.



Derek Sweeting QC


Mark Fenhalls QC


Lorinda Long


Ex Officio Members

Rt Hon Suella Braverman QC MP   Attorney General

Rt Hon Alex Chalk QC MP  Solicitor General

Max Hill QC      Director of Public Prosecutions

Lisa Roberts QC    Leader, Northern Circuit

Richard Wright QC     Leader, North Eastern Circuit

Kate Brunner QC     Leader, Western Circuit

Michelle Heeley QC     Leader, Midland Circuit

Christine Agnew QC    Leader, South Eastern Circuit

David Elias QC     Leader, Wales and Chester Circuit

Jo Sidhu QC    Chair, Criminal Bar Association

Cyrus Larizadeh QC    Chair, Family Law Bar Association

Amanda Hardy QC     Chair, Chancery Bar Association

Colin West QC Chair, London Common Law & Commercial Bar Association

Gaynor Wood  Chair, Bar Association for Commerce, Finance & Industry

David Joseph QC    Chair, Commercial Bar Association


Inns Representatives

Birgitte Hagem    Gray’s Inn

Kim Hollis QC    Gray’s Inn

Christina Michalos QC    Gray’s Inn

Minka Braun     Inner Temple

Rehana Popal     Inner Temple

Robert Rhodes QC     Inner Temple

Melissa Coutinho    Lincoln’s Inn

Laura Gould     Lincoln’s Inn

Linda Turnbull     Lincoln’s Inn

Isabel Hitching QC     Middle Temple

Louise McCullough    Middle Temple

Joe Smouha QC     Middle Temple


Circuit Representatives

Michael Hayton QC    Northern Circuit

Matthew Howarth     Northern Circuit

Nicholas Johnson QC    North Eastern Circuit

Gordon Stables    North Eastern Circuit

Kate Lumsdon QC    Western Circuit

Susan Jones      Western Circuit

Barbara Connolly QC    Midland Circuit

Lee Marklew     Midland Circuit

Donal Lawler    South Eastern Circuit

Sophia Dower    South Eastern Circuit

Richard Cole     Wales and Chester Circuit

Jonathan Rees QC    Wales and Chester Circuit


Association Representatives 

Kirsty Brimelow QC  Criminal Bar Association

Zoe Saunders     Family Law Bar Association

Faith Julian      Chancery Bar Association

Carl Brewin  London Common Law & Commercial Bar Association

Alexandria Carr  Bar Association for Commerce Finance & Industry

Siddharth Dhar    Commercial Bar Association

Shobana Iyer       Intellectual Property Bar Association

Philip Moser QC     Bar European Group

Ben Symons     Revenue Bar Association

Jessica Stephens QC    Technology & Construction Bar Association

James Corbet Burcher   Planning & Environment Bar Association

Alison Pickup  Constitutional and Administrative Law Bar Association

Ivor Collett      Professional Negligence Bar Association

Emily Formby    Personal Injuries Bar Association

Sean Jones QC     Employment Law Bar Association

Harriet Holmes      Property Bar Association

Andrew Morgan     FDA, Crown Prosecution Service Section

TBA     Government Legal Service

Dr Mirza Ahmad  Bar Association for Local Government and the Public Service

Elected: Queen’s Counsel (Self-employed)

Robin Allen QC

Nicolas Bacon QC

Neil Hawes QC

Jason Sugarman QC

Steven Thompson QC

Nick Vineall QC


Elected: Junior Counsel over 7 years in practice (Self-employed)

Simon Anderson

Elaine Banton

Mark Chaloner

Sydney Chawatama

Benjamin Close

Tim Devlin

Andrew Granville Stafford

Sarah Holmes-Willis

James Keeley

Edite Ligere

Eleanor Mawrey

Martyn McLeish

David O’Mahony

Grace Ong

Deshpal Panesar

Francesca Perselli

Philip Stott

John-Paul Swoboda

David Christopher Taylor

Jacqueline Thomas QC

Anton van Dellen


Elected: Junior Counsel under 7 years in practice (Self-employed)

Lorna Badham

Emma-Louise Heath

Hazel Hobbs

Elizabeth Houghton

Joanne Kane

Ted Loveday

Athena Markides

Oliver May

Francesca O’Neill

Michael Polak

Natasha Shotunde

Kate Spence


Elected: Junior Counsel over 7 years in practice (Employed)

Stuart Alford QC

Philip Bennetts QC

James Kitching

Tom Leech QC

Lorinda Long

Lucinda Orr

Charlotte Pope-Williams

Ryan Richter

Heidi Stonecliffe QC


Elected: Junior Counsel under 7 years in practice (Employed)

Zayd Ahmed

Michael Bellis

Layla Ferguson

Michael Harwood

Timothy Manley

Emma Walker


Co-opted Members

Caroline Goodwin QC

Stephen Kenny QC

Leanne Targett-Parker

Shazia Akhtar

Simon Regis

Alexandra Wilson

Camila Zapata Besso

Meeting Dates


Saturday 29 January 2022

Saturday 26 March 2022

Saturday 18 June 2022

Saturday 17 September 2022 (AGM) 

Saturday 12 November 2022

Tuesday 6 December 2022 (Inaugural Address)


Saturday 30th January 2021

Saturday 24th April 2021

Saturday 10th July 2021

Saturday 18th September 2021

Saturday 13th November 2021

Tuesday 7th December 2021 (Inaugural Address)


Saturday 25 January 2020

Saturday 29 February 2020

Saturday 28 March 2020

Saturday 16 May 2020

Saturday 12 September 2020

Saturday 21 November 2020

Monday 14 December 2020 (Inaugural Address)



Saturday 12 January - 10:00

Saturday 9 February -10.00

Saturday 30 March - 10:00

Saturday 11 May - 10:00

Saturday 6 July - 10:00

Saturday 7 September - 10:00 meeting - 11:00 (AGM)

Saturday 2 November - 10:00

Monday 2 December - 17:30

(Chair’s inaugural Speech)


Bar Council Minutes

Bar Council minutes