Education and Training Committee

Executive:  Kian Goodsell

Co-Chair: Jacob Hallam KC– 6 Kings Bench Walk

Co-Chair: Fallon Alexis- QEB Hollis Whiteman



Alice Hands- Temple Garden Chambers

Anton van Dellen – Goldsmith Chambers

Atif Mian - New Walk Chambers

Cathrine Grubb – Civitas Law

Cheryl Jones- Clifford Chance

Furhana Mallick – Chambers Manager, 4 Paper Buildings

James Keeley - Cornwall Street Barristers

Kate Livesey – 4 Pump Court

Liam Kelly – Deans Court Chambers

Linda Turnbull – Goldsmith Chambers

Marie-Claire O’Hara – Laing O’Rourke

Mohammed Sajid Bismillah - Tuckers Solicitors

Professor Satvinder Juss - 3 Hare Court

Shaylla Shabbir – Exchange Chambers

Simon Crawshaw – Atkin Chambers

Tahmina Rahman - Garden Court Chambers

Tamsin Cox – Falcon Chambers

Yaa Dankwa Ampadu-Sackey – Lamb Building


The Terms of Reference of the Committee are:

a. To provide careers advice to prospective barristers (of all backgrounds) about the Bar (including through outreach work in schools and universities);

b. To provide information about the Bar and role of law through outreach work in schools and universities;

c. To keep under review the arrangements for qualification and training for practice as a barrister and propose any changes to the BSB;

d. To keep under review policy and practice for continuing professional development and propose any changes in policy to the BSB;

e. To provide advice and services to chambers and other bodies seeking to recruit and train barristers;

f. To identify areas where barristers require additional training/professional development;

g. To respond to proposals from the BSB, the Law Society, the Inns' Council, the Legal Services' Board and other bodies in respect of the education and training of lawyers generally

h. To support the strategic aims of the Bar Council, as published. 


View current committee vacancies and find out how to apply