Young Barristers' Committee

Executive: Lesley Orero

Chair: Katherine Duncan – Garden Court Chambers

Vice-Chair: Joanne Kane – Carmelite Chambers



Mavis Amonoo-Acquah – Harcourt Chambers

Aadhitya Anbahan – St Ives Chambers

Sam Barker – Two Harcourt Buildings

George Bennett – Practice Manager, 20 Essex Street

Catherine Collins – 33 Chancery Lane

Lucy Conroy – 12 College Place

Diana Deju – Ofgem

Amrit Dhanoa – 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square

Diane Doliveaux – Tanfield Chambers

Layla Ferguson – GLD

Michael Harwood – HM Treasury

James Holmes – Garden Court Chambers

Danielle Manson – Garden Court Chambers

Aisla McKeon – 6 Kings Bench Walk

Francesca Perselli – Maitland Chambers

Michael Polak – Church Court Chambers

Charlotte Pope-Williams – Pinsent Masons LLP

Jessica Purchase – The 36 Group

Shabana Saleem – Forsters LLP

Michael Standing – 39 Essex Chambers

Emma Walker – DWF Advocacy

Gerwyn Wise – Garden Court Chambers

Phillippa White – Pupil, 1 MCB Chambers

Shaylla Shabbir – Pupil, Kings Chambers

Spencer Turner - 12 King’s Bench Walk


The Terms of Reference of the Committee are:

a. To advise the representative committees of the Bar Council on all matters which appear to the Young Barristers' Committee to be of particular concern to young barristers, or upon which advice is sought by other representative committees of the Bar Council, and to liaise with the BSB on such matters as necessary;

b. To take such steps as seem likely to promote the interests of the Young Bar having regard to the interests of the Bar as whole;

c. To elect a Chair and Vice-Chair amongst their number;

d. To support the strategic aims of the Bar Council, as published.


View current committee vacancies and find out how to apply