International Committee

Executive: Christian Wisskirchen

Chair: Steven Thompson QC – XXIV Old Buildings

Vice-Chair: David Josse QC – 5SAH

Vice-Chair: Hugh Mercer QC – Essex Court Chambers

Vice-Chair: Marion Smith QC – 39 Essex Chambers



Isabel Hitching QC     Crown Office Chambers

Pavlos Panayi QC     7 Bedford Row

Jonathan Peacock QC    11 New Square

Nicholas Johnson QC    Exchange Chambers

Adrian Berry     Garden Court Chambers

Catherine Calder     Serjeants Inn (Joint Chief Executive)

Sydney Chawatama    1 Crown Office Row

Toby M Cadman     Guernica 37 International Justice Chambers

Mehvish Chaudhry     Harcourt Chambers

Rupert D’Cruz     Littleton Chambers

Patrick Duffy     23 Essex Street

Simon Milnes     Twenty Essex Chambers

John McKendrick QC    Outer Temple Chambers

Andrew Moran QC     Serle Court

Alex Haines      Outer Temple Chambers

Tetyana Nesterchuk    Fountain Court Chambers

David O’Mahony     7 Bedford Row

Oliver Phillips     Maitland Chambers

Mark Rushton     Wilberforce Chambers

Frederico Singarajah    Hardwicke Chambers

Andrew Stevens     4 Pump Court

David Owusu-Yianoma    12 Old Square Chambers

Luke Irons      Deputy Senior Clerk, Maitland Chambers

Emily Wood     Essex Court Chambers

Birgitte Hagem    CPS

Diane Doliveux  Tanfield Chambers

Penelope Nevill Twenty Essex Chambers

The Terms of Reference of the Committee are:

a. To promote the standing and the interests of the Bar internationally;

b. To support the rule of law internationally;

c. To keep abreast of international developments;

d. To inform and educate the Bar about international developments and opportunities;

e. To further the objectives above by cooperation between the Bar and legal professions abroad and by participation in the work of international legal associations and professional bodies;

f. To influence international legal developments;

g. To support the strategic aims of the Bar Council as published.


View current committee vacancies and find out how to apply